me

Supermom…

That’s what I have become. And I so wish I had 3 more hands and 4 more legs. Detachable, preferably. Another brain would be nice. And so would a few more hours added to the day. My day starts at 3 am and ends at 8 pm when I am in a state that makes Mr.M wonder if I need the ambulance or am just asleep. Yes, my fellow humans! I have given up my life of comfort and am on my way to making the world a better place, one child at a time.

Yes! I am officially 6 months away from being a Montessori teacher. Meanwhile, I spend my days working one on one with a child at Ka’s class. A sweet little boy whom life has been mean to. We all know how Mr. Life can be quite the bully sometimes! So, I am there to teach the boy how to fight back, but without hurting himself or other people. It’s been interesting, to say the least. And needless to say I am loving it. Also, the timing couldn’t have been more perfect. Having the opportunity to observe a traditional classroom while working through a Montessori teacher training course is just priceless. And I am going to be putting down my thoughts about what I see and feel at http://www.montessorimother.wordpress.com (there’s no content there yet, as of today, but there will be soon).

Meanwhile, I am going through the pain of watching my child’s spirit shrink and die slowly, one spark at a time. The twinkle in her eye is disappearing and her love for learning is burning out. So, as a desperate effort to try to rekindle that fire inspite of the traditional school, I am in the process of creating a mini-montessori environment for her, right in her room. It might not have all the elements of a Montessori environment (for lack of space and resources) but it will be as close to it as I can make it. And I don’t know why, but inspite of being sleep deprived, and tired and over-worked and all those things that should make me want to sleep-in till 11 am on a sunday morning, I was up at 4 am feeling all charged up and energized. So, I am going to wrap up now and put all that energy to good use. And the next time I have a little time to spare, I will be back with more news.

Leave a Reply

